Our sister sites:
Creative Sonoma

World Alliance for Arts Education

Posted on 
World Alliance for Arts Education
    Website
/

   

The impact of the arts and arts education is wide and significant. As a global arts education community, we seek to know the impact of our work in the many contexts in which it manifests. As the world experiences tremendous shifts in education and cultural engagement, we must envision new pathways for assessing and evaluating the impact of arts learning and arts programming.This virtual seminar will provide an opportunity for the global arts education community to share research and begin to examine the structures, processes, and practices, which may lead our field towards a new reality of arts assessment and program evaluation. This seminar will bring together several invited international experts and host a discussion of evidence-based practices aimed at measuring impact of arts learning and arts programming.

For more information about the postponed summit, to be held in 2021, please visit this website.

Program
The seminar will be held live from 9:00 EST / 14:00 GMT to 10:45 EST / 15:45 GMT. The program will be as follows:

Introduction – Robin Pascoe, Chair of the Executive Council of the World Alliance for Arts Education

Welcome – Dr. Timothy Brophy & Marcia McCaffrey, Co-chairs of the WAAE Summit 2020/21

Presentations:

“Culturalization of digital life worlds: The impact of arts education in the context of digitalisation” – Dr. Susanne Keuchel (Germany)

“Learning about culture: testing arts-based learning through randomised control trials” – Mark Londesborough & Sam Cairns (UK)

“Redefining assessment literacy in music teacher education curriculum” – Drs. Jared Rawlings and Kelly A. Parkes (USA)

Closing & Transition – Jeff M. Poulin, Chair of the Young & Emerging Leaders Forum

Participants will be invited to a facilitated discussion following the seminar, which will be held from 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT to 12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT.

Recording & Digitization
The seminar will be offered live, in real time, on 26 October 2020 and it will be recorded. Immediately following, the videos will be edited, captioned, made available for translation, and uploaded to the WAAE website. We expect a digital archive to be available by 1 November 2020.

The facilitated discussion will not be recorded or digitized.

Registration
Registration must be completed in order to participate in the Virtual Seminar. The event is offered for free, however, optional contributions may be made to help defer the cost of producing this global virtual event.

Questions
Questions about the event may be sent to WAAE2021@aa.ufl.edu. Technical issues with registration can be reported to Info@Creative-Generation.org.